UPSC - Union Public Service Commission

The Union Public Service Commission (UPSC; Hindi: संघ लोक सेवा आयोग) is India's focal enrolling office. It is in charge of arrangements to and examinations of group A and B Central administrations. While the Department of Personnel and Training is the focal workforce organization in India. 


The commission is headquartered at Dholpur House, in New Delhi and capacities through its own particular secretariat. Vinay Mittal is its present Chairman of UPSC. 

Established on 1 October 1926 as Public Service Commission, it was later reconstituted as Federal Public Service Commission by the Government of India Act, 1935; just to be renamed as the present Union Public Service Commission after the freedom.

UPSC is an exam conducting body which appoints officers for the upper service sector.

  • Civil Services Examination (CSE)

  • Engineering Services Examination (ESE)

  • Combined Medical Services Examination (CMSE)

  • Combined Defence Services Examination (CDSE)

  • National Defence Academy Examination (NDA)

  • Naval Academy Examination

  • Special Class Railway Apprentice (SCRA)

  • Indian Forest Service Examination

  • Indian Economic Service Examination

  • Indian Statistical Service Examination

  • Combined Geoscientist and Geologist Examination

  • Central Armed Police Forces (Assistant Commandant) Examination (CAPF)

  • Section Officers/Stenographers (Grade-B/Grade-I) Departmental Competitive Examination


The exam conducted for all these services are the same and candidates are provided services and cader according to there rank preference and home state. 

The UPSC exam is counted in one of the most difficult exams of the country. The exam has two parts 

1. Prelims

2. Mains

these two portions are further divided into 


Both papers are of Qualifying nature i.e. numbers you obtain in qualifying paper doesn't matter for anything it doesn't matter how much you score you'll be standing on the same stage with one who got highest and one who got lowest so in the qualifying paper just get marks above cut off and you're done.

1. Paper 1 - General Studies [200 Marks]

2. Paper 2 - Civil Services Aptitude Test (CSAT) [200 Marks]


Qualifying papers

1. Paper 1 - Any language from the 8th schedule of the constitution [300 Marks]

(There are a total of 22 languages in the schedule naming


 Tamil, Telugu, Malayalam, Kannada, Oriya, Marathi, Gujarati, Bengali, Hindi, Punjabi, Kashmiri, Assamese, Sanskrit, Nepali, Urdu, Sindhi, Konkani, Manipuri, Bodo, Dogri, Maithili, Santhali)


2. Paper 2 - English [300 Marks]  

Papers counted for merit.

In this type of paper how many numbers you get matters the most, they decide your rank and in UPSC everything you get is based on rank, more the number you get higher will be your rank.

1. Paper 1 - Essay [250 Marks]

2. Paper 2 - General Studies 1 [250 Marks]

( Geography, History, Indian Heritage and culture)

3. Paper 3 - General Studies 2 [250 Marks]

(Governance, Constitution, Polity, Social Justice, International Relations)

4. Paper 4 - General Studies 3 [250 Marks]

(Technology, Economic Development, Biodiversity, Environment, Security, Disaster Management)

5- Paper 5 - General Studies 4 [250 Marks]

(Ethics, Integrity, Aptitude)

And your final step is

Personality test [ 275 Marks ]

The Latest news on UPSC


Join our mailing list

Never miss an update